How Does Obamacare Affect Medicare Supplement Insurance?


Medigap

Click the photo to visit our Medigap page.

I know that there are still some people who are both confused and hopeful that the Patient’s Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA) will offer them some relief from the current underwriting rules that health insurance companies use.

Last weekend someone stumbled across this blog by asking, “Will Obamacare offer relief for those with serious pre-existing conditions who sign up for Medigap after the initial enrollment?”

I work mainly with Baby Boomers.  Since many of them are retiring and must enroll in Medicare, I find that question very pertinent.

Although the PPACA does effect people over 65 to a degree, the law will have its biggest effect on people under 65.  The restrictions on medical underwriting target Major Medical health insurance and not Medigap.  There is talk in D.C. of making changes to Medicare and Medigap in the future. For now, however, things will remain the same.

MEDIGAP

During the first 6 months of eligibility for Medicare, each person is guaranteed approval of a Medigap policy regardless of their health.  That is called your Initial Enrollment Period.  If you enroll in Medigap during this period, not only is your acceptance guaranteed, the insurance company is required to waive any pre-existing condition clauses.

Those people who do not enroll in Medigap during their Initial Enrollment Period, are subject to medical underwriting if they elect to get a Medigap plan later.  Also, they are subject to any pre-existing condition clauses their insurance company may have.  Even if they are able to get a Medigap plan, it will not pay for anything that is considered a “pre-existing” condition for at least 6 months.

Ideally, if you want help from an insurance company to pay for things that Medicare does not, you will obtain a Medigap plan when you first are eligible for Medicare.  (If you are not certain if Medigap is right for you, read my book, “Understanding Medigap Insurance.”)

If you did not take advantage of your Initial Enrollment Period and later decide that a Medigap plan is right for you, do not be discouraged.  If you are in average health for your age, you may still be able to medically qualify.

Surprisingly, insurance companies will cover many people who are being treated for a medical condition.   Insurance companies who issue Medigap plans have a different underwriting standard.  What was considered a “pre-existing” condition and automatic decline when you were 64 may not be when you are 65.

If you wait until you are too sick to medically qualify for Medigap, you are out of luck with Medigap unless you can qualify for a Guaranteed Issue exception.  You will find a list of those exceptions on pages 22 – 23 of CMS’s publication, “Choosing A Medigap Policy.”

Please notice that all the exceptions have to do with changes to your insurance portfolio.  None of the exceptions are based on your health.  You are not able to go without Medigap until you are diagnosed with a serious medical issue and then enroll.  If you want Medigap protection, you have to get it either during your Initial Enrollment Period or before your health deteriorates too much.

MEDICARE ADVANTAGE

If you are not eligible for Medigap because of a “pre-existing condition” but are not happy with Medicare’s partial pay policy, you may want to consider a Medicare Advantage plan.  They are more limiting than Medigap but if you do not travel and your doctors and hospitals are within the plan’s “network,”  Medicare Advantage may be an acceptable option for you.

There are many things that you will have to relearn about your health insurance if you elect to enroll in Medicare Advantage.  One of the many adjustments that you will have to make is the limited enrollment time that is available.

You will have a 7 month window around the time you turn 65 in which you may enroll in Medicare Advantage.  If you miss that Initial Enrollment, you will have to wait until the next Annual Enrollment Period to join unless you are able to qualify for one of the Special Enrollment Periods (don’t count on it) that Medicare allows.

The Annual Enrollment Period is usually only 6 weeks in the last quarter of the year.  During that time, you may enroll in a Medicare Advantage plan for the following year.  Just don’t be caught unawares.

If you are diagnosed with an expensive medical problem, like cancer, in July, you are not able to get a Medicare Advantage plan to cover you in August.  You will have to wait until the following October to enroll in Medicare Advantage.  You will then have to wait until January before any of your medical bills are covered.

22 responses to “How Does Obamacare Affect Medicare Supplement Insurance?

  1. I like it when people get together and share thoughts.

    Great website, continue the good work!

  2. Hello, I check your new stuff on a regular basis.
    Your writing style is awesome, keep up the good work!

  3. I enjoy reading a post that can make people think. Also, thanks for permitting me to comment!

  4. Hello to every one, the contents existing at this site are actually remarkable for people knowledge, well, keep up the nice work fellows.

  5. I am sure this article has touched all the internet viewers, its really really good paragraph on
    building up new weblog.

  6. Amazing! Its in fact amazing article, I have got much clear idea on
    the topic of from this paragraph.

  7. Today, I went to the beach with my kids. I found a sea shell and gave
    it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She placed the shell to her ear and screamed.

    There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear.
    She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is completely off topic but I had to tell
    someone!

  8. Hey there! Someone in my Facebook group shared this site with us so I came to check it out.
    I’m definitely loving the information. I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers!
    Superb blog and fantastic design.

  9. Hey there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be okay. I’m definitely enjoying your blog and look forward to
    new posts.

  10. Hey! I realize this is sort of off-topic
    but I needed to ask. Does running a well-established blog such as yours require a massive amount work?
    I’m completely new to running a blog but I do write in my diary everyday. I’d like to start a blog so I will be able to share
    my experience and feelings online. Please let me know if you
    have any kind of recommendations or tips for new aspiring bloggers.
    Appreciate it!

  11. My partner and I absolutely love your blog and find most of your post’s to be just what I’m looking for. can you offer guest writers to write content for yourself? I wouldn’t mind creating a post or elaborating on a lot of the subjects you write concerning here. Again, awesome site!

  12. Howdy would you mind letting me know which hosting company you’re using? I’ve loaded your
    blog in 3 different web browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot quicker
    then most. Can you recommend a good hosting provider at
    a fair price? Many thanks, I appreciate it!

  13. It’s remarkable in favor of me to have a website, which is good for my knowledge. thanks admin

  14. These are actually great ideas in regarding blogging.
    You have touched some good points here. Any way keep up wrinting.

  15. Hello, of course this paragraph is truly nice and I have learned lot of things from it about blogging. thanks.

  16. Very good information. Lucky me I discovered your website by accident (stumbleupon). I have book marked it for later!

  17. As the admin of this site is working, no doubt very quickly it will be famous, due to its feature contents.

  18. Hey! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any problems with hackers? My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing months of hard work due to no data backup. Do you have any methods to prevent hackers?

  19. Heya! I know this is somewhat off-topic however I had to ask. Does running a well-established blog such as yours require a lot of work? I am brand new to operating a blog however I do write in my journal everyday. I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my personal experience and views online. Please let me know if you have any suggestions or tips for brand new aspiring blog owners. Appreciate it!

  20. Aw, this was an exceptionally nice post. Spending some time and actual effort to generate a good article… but what can I say… I hesitate a whole lot and don’t manage to get nearly anything done.

  21. I’ve been exploring for a bit for any high-quality articles or weblog posts in this sort of space . Exploring in Yahoo I eventually stumbled upon this website. Studying this info So i’m happy to exhibit that I’ve a very just right uncanny feeling I discovered exactly what I needed. I so much no doubt will make sure to don?t omit this website and provides it a look on a relentless basis.

  22. Thanks , I have recently been searching for information approximately this topic
    for a long time and yours is the best I’ve discovered so far.
    But, what about the bottom line? Are you positive in
    regards to the source?

If you have something to say about this post or additional information on the topic, leave your comment here.

