Are You Willing To Give Up Your Freedom For Barack Obama?


Like many Americans, I do not care much about the profits for the health insurance companies.  As far as I am concerned, they are nothing more than bill paying services.

I also do not care much about the profit margins for hospitals and doctors.  I do understand that they invested many years and hundreds of thousands of dollars on training and equipping their offices.

FAIRNESS

As far as I am concerned, both have a right to earn as much money as people are willing to pay.  Unfortunately, they have both grown to the point where some
Americans are either not willing to or are unable to pay them.

In the past 4 years the politicians have successfully acted like Las Vegas illusionist.  While the politicians have directed people’s attention toward the evil 2% profit the insurance companies make for paying doctor and hospital bills, the doctors and hospitals have consistently increased their fees.

The Patient’s Protection and Affordable Care Act has many provisions in it aimed at increasing the number of things insurance companies must pay at the same time that it does everything it  can to limit how much money the insurance companies can earn.

I would be all for that if it was not for the fact that while the system that pays the bills for American’s health care gets whipped by Obamacare, the ones who are charging the outlandish bills barely get a slap on the wrist.

INDIVIDUAL MANDATE

Section 5000A of the Patient’s Protection and Affordable Care Act, also known as Obamacare, requires every American who is not in prison or a member of a religious sect that teaches against insurance, to buy private health insurance or pay a penalty to the IRS.

The majority of those who watch the Supreme Court, feel that the arguments made by those against the Obamacare mandate were more convincing to the justices of the Supreme Court than those made by Obama’s Solicitor General.

Although the justices have already made their decision, the Supreme Court is usually pretty good at keeping things secret until they have all their “ducks in a row.”  Their final decision is not expected to be known until the last week of June or July.

PROBLEMS

Last weekend I was enlightened on a potential problem with the Supreme Court.  The cases that were heard last month were about the federal law that was approved by congress.  Unfortunately, some states merely adopted the language that was in the federal law.

If the Supreme Court overturns part or all of Obamacare, those states that adopted the language of the PPACA will not be affected.  The Individual Mandate may still be the law of their state even though it is no longer the law of the nation.

That means that every citizen in those states may still be required to buy private health insurance whether they want to or not.  Unfortunately, the subsidies and federal tax credits that were designed to help people pay for high health insurance will not be available from national funds.  Any subsidies will have to come from state funds.

Since I live in a state that has not adopted the wording of the PPACA I am not as concerned about state liability as I am about congress telling me how I must spend my money.

Like most law-abiding citizens, I pay my taxes so that my federal government can waste more money.  However, I resent congress saying that the “Individual Mandate” is not a tax but I have to spend my discretionary money on a health insurance policy that is managed by a private insurance company but dictated by the Secretary of Health and Human Services.

I carry health insurance on myself for catastrophic medical bills.  I do not have health insurance for routine medical care or things that I can pay for myself.  I am a male Baby Boomer.  There is no chance that I or my wife will need maternity care.  I resent being told that I must buy private health insurance with maternity coverage.

I pay for health insurance because it is the wise thing to do.  I do not pay for it because any governmental agency tells me I have to.  I am self-employed.  I do not have the luxury of getting health insurance from my employer.  I have to pay for it myself.

The insurance companies have increased their propaganda in support of the “Individual Mandate.”    They are using the same formula as the politicians to get their way.  When everything else fails, scare the American people.

As a business man, I understand their concerns.  If the “Individual Mandate” is declared unconstitutional but insurance companies are required to approve all applications, regardless of the applicant’s health status, they will eventually be forced to close their doors.

I am just not willing to give up my freedom of choice to re-elect Barack Obama or support the health insurance industry.  As a student of history, I find it strange that during the crisis of WWII the government did not enact any taxes or penalties to pay for the expenses of fighting two wars.  If that generation was able to mobilize like it did, why is our generation not able to solve a much smaller problem without infringing on people’s rights?

If you have something to say about this post or additional information on the topic, leave your comment here.

