Do You Want To Learn More About Alzheimer’s?


English: PET scan of a human brain with Alzhei...
English: PET scan of a human brain with Alzheimer’s disease (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Many Americans only know Alzheimer’s disease as something that makes older people forgetful.  It is much more.  The leading cause for LTCI claims for nursing homes is Alzheimer’s disease. 

Alzheimer’s disease is the 6th leading cause of death in America today.  It affects almost 1 in 8 of every American who reaches the age of 80.  While they lose their life-time memories, family members are helpless.  They are forced to watch their parent die mentally before their body gives up.

My dad had Huntington’s disease.  They are not the same but they share the problem of dementia.   I know a little bit about emotional stress of caring for someone who cared for me when I could not care for myself.

I am not a doctor.  I am only qualified to answer questions about insurance.  Here are links to several sites with more information about Alzheimer’s disease.

