Did Obama Really Try To By-Pass Congress?


Official photographic portrait of US President...
Official photographic portrait of US President Barack Obama (born 4 August 1961; assumed office 20 January 2009) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I am in the middle of a series of posts on legitimate reasons to buy Life insurance.  However, something happened this week that is important enough to interrupt that series.  I will pick up where I left off next Monday.

Today, however, I want to add my 2 cents worth to the national debate over Barack Obama’s actions this week.

I do not care much for Barack Obama’s presidency.  As far as I am concerned he has been the worst president of my life-time.   However, call me a cock-eyed optimist.  I have still have faith in my fellow Americans.

From my studies of history I have learned that America has had some bad presidents before and survived.  As a nation we have been through 10 wars, a Great Depression and countless presidential scandals.  America has survived regardless of its trials.

It is true that hundreds of thousands of people have lost their lives and property during those trials.  However, the American people have passed every test that fate has given and graduated with honors.  I believe that the American way of life will survive Obama’s presidency.

If I were to rank presidents, I would be forced to place Jimmy Carter and Richard Nixon ahead of Barack Obama.  Perhaps only U.S. Grant and Andrew Johnson, in the 19th century have been more clueless and wasteful.

I cannot believe that Americans have voted to give him another 4 year term.  The only good thing is that in 4 years he will be gone from the White House.  His ability to alter our way of life will be ended.

If you are like me and have stopped watching TV news because you do not want to see his lying lips move, you may have missed his controversial “Executive Orders.”

Those on the right are screaming that the president is trying to by-pass the will of congress and create gun-control law.  Those on the extreme left are heralding them as “long-overdue gun control.”

If Americans will remove their political bias and actually read the orders, they will see that they are neither.  The orders are not a threat to the ownership of guns by sane people.  They are only designed to increase the effectiveness of already existing “background checks” for people who are wanting to buy a gun.

The executive orders do not limit the availability of ammunition, mandate that gun owners turn in their guns or even prevent the sale of new guns.  They just make it easier for gun dealers and law enforcement to limit the sale of firearms to people with mental illness.

Mr. Obama has already done enough for me to dislike his presidency.  The way he bullied congress and the American people to get Obamacare, the way he has handled the American economy and his wasteful spending (I resent using my tax dollars for the upkeep of a presidential retreat at Camp David so that my president can ignore it and use American tax dollars to vacation in Hawaii each year) are enough to alienate someone with my viewpoint.

However, regardless of how I feel, Barack Obama has been constitutionally elected to lead our nation for another 4 years.  The history of 2nd term presidents is not good.  Most presidents who get re-elected have some sort of scandal during their 2nd term.

The Executive Orders that Mr. Obama signed a couple of days ago have not been received well by gun owners, however, I do not see them as an attempt to by-pass the will of congress.

Frankly, I am more concerned about the mandated Essential Benefit Plans being ready in time for the January, 2014 deadline.   In my opinion, this “gun-control” argument is nothing more than a distraction from the problems his administration is having while they over-haul 1/6 of the nation’s economy.

The executive orders Mr. Obama signed earlier this week could save the lives of scores of Americans by preventing someone who suffers from schizophrenia from buying a handgun.  That, to me, is a good thing.  It proves the old proverb, “Even a blind pig will occasionally find an acorn.”

However, the PPACA mandates that every American purchase a government approved health insurance policy in 2014.  By signing that legislation into law, Mr. Obama communicated to me that he thinks he knows how to spend my money better than I do.

When history judges Barack Obama’s presidency, I think that it will find that his “Individual Mandate” is just as scandalous as “Prohibition.” His executive orders from this week will barely be noticed.

Cigarette

 

One thought on “Did Obama Really Try To By-Pass Congress?

Leave a Reply

