HUGE Obamacare Development – If Its True


English: Barack Obama speech "Fighting fo...
English: Barack Obama speech “Fighting for Health Insurance Reform” delivered 8 March 2010 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I follow a routine on days that I do not have to see clients.  The first thing that I do each morning is to check my email to see if there is anything that I need to do for one of my clients.

After checking my email, I take a few minutes to see what is happening with my friends on Facebook.  Although I try to avoid politically charged comments, if there is a picture or cartoon that I find particularly humorous or clever, I pass it along so that the rest of my Facebook friends can enjoy it.

That typically takes 15-20 minutes.  After that I spend the next hour or so reviewing all of the sources that I use to keep tabs on the events that are happening with Obamacare.  My objective is to be able to weed through all the political spin to find facts.

This morning I was surprised to learn that, allegedly, President Obama announced a major change in the definition of “Affordability” in a final rule yesterday.

As of now, there is so much political spin and finger-pointing that I am not able to confirm any facts.  All I know now is that if what I am reading is true, what many people have been thinking for the past 3 years is inaccurate.

According to the P.P.A.C.A. in order to be eligible for federal help with health insurance premiums, known as “subsidies,” you must meet 2 criteria.

  1. Not be eligible for group health insurance benefits.
  2. If you are eligible for group health insurance benefits the premium must exceed 9.5% of your income.

Yesterday, the Obama administration said that the calculation for the “subsidies” would be based on only the portion of health insurance that is attributable to the employee.

If that is true, and there is no corrective action taken by congress, dependents will be forced, under the Individual Mandate, to buy government approved health insurance but not be eligible for any federal help to pay the premiums.

Many larger companies go ahead and pay something towards the cost of health insurance for family members of their employees.

However, those Americans who work for companies that provide group health insurance but do not pay for employee families, will technically be ineligible for the “subsidies.”

I am certain that with the passage of time, the truth will become known.  I did, however, want to warn you that if you were planning on getting some federal help with your family’s health insurance premium in 2014, there is a greater chance today than there was yesterday that you will not get anything if you are in the middle-class and get health insurance for your spouse and children at work.

Share 1

Leave a Reply

