Boycott D.C.


Boycott

The U.S. Congress is responsible to administer the District of Columbia.  Since they will not listen to the voice of the American people any other way, I propose that we talk with our money.

I encourage you to visit your representative’s web site and send him/her an email stating that you will neither visit nor knowingly do business with any company where your dollars could end up in the economy of the District of Columbia as long as Obama’s Individual Mandate exists.

I recognize that there are several good reforms in the PPACA but the mandate for all Americans to buy government approved health insurance or pay a penalty is one straw too many for me.

As far as I am concerned, it is nothing more than a direct attack on American’s freedom of choice.  I understand that the mandate is necessary in order for private insurance companies to keep premiums as low as possible.  It makes perfect economic sense to me.

However, I am not willing to sell my freedoms so that a politician can keep health insurance premiums low.

There are plenty of other sites to visit in the U.S. over the next couple of years.  If you enjoy travel, you will not be bored.  Just make certain you explain to your member of congress why your tourism dollars are going somewhere other than D.C.

Congress is not likely to listen to just one American but if enough Americans avoid D.C. they will notice a drop in their tourism dollars in a couple of years.  When that happens maybe congress will find a way to ignore political ambition and actually solve the problems of high health care expenses without adding new taxes or violating our freedoms for political reasons.

Boycott Banner

