CHAS Strategy

If You’re Going To Lose Weight, Do It In A Healthy Way


Anorexia Nervosa by Dr Mohamed Osman
Image via Wikipedia

One of the most common New Year’s resolutions is a resolve to lose weight.  Statistically, more diets start on January 1 than on any other day of the year.  Also, more diets stop on January 15 than any other day of the year.

Years ago I came to terms with my weight issue.  Both my dad and mom were heavy in their middle ages.  I think part of it is genetic.

I know that is an easy excuse and rationalization for being fat but it is the best I can do.  I spoke with my doctor during my annual physical last week.   Although he concurred with me that I could stand to lose some weight, I am not in the category of the morbidly obese.  I would not qualify for gastric by-pass surgery.  Short of elective plastic surgery, which I am not willing to resort to at this time, medicine has very little options for weight control at this time according to my doctor.  Therefore, at least what I heard, the best way to lose weight is still diet and exercise.

My doctor was more concerned about my cholesterol numbers than my weight.  While they were not bad enough to cause him to prescribe a statin for me, they were not in the best ratio of good to bad cholesterol.  The advice I got was to eat fewer cheeseburgers and more salads.  At least he did not tell me to eat more Brussel Sprouts or Broccoli.

If you have made it this far with your resolution to lose weight and are dedicated to losing weight, do it in a healthy manner.  Make certain to keep your doctor in the loop with whatever program you are using to lose weight.

Below are some tips from Blue Cross Blue Shield of Texas on ways to handle both your weight and your doctor.

  Plan for a healthy loss
  “Lose weight without any diet or exercise!” Such claims by fad diets make it challenging to choose a weight loss plan that is safe, or to know what questions to ask.
  Use these guidelines to talk with your doctor about a healthy plan that works for you:
 
  •  
    • Write questions in advance
    • Share concerns about medical conditions you may have or about medicines you are taking
    • Bring a pad of paper and a pen to take notes
    • Don’t be afraid to ask questions if there’s something you don’t understand
    • Ask for other sources of information, such as websites or brochures
    • If you want more help, ask for referral to a registered dietitian support group or commercial weight-loss program

Leave a comment